Rotary Against Drugs (RAD)




Information on the upcoming District 7710 RAD Contest

When: Saturday, February 27, 2016   1:00pm to 4:00pm

Where: North Carolina Advocates for Justice building, 1312 Annapolis Dr., Raleigh 27608 (intersection of Wade Avenue and Oberlin Rd, same as last year)

Cost: $50 per contestant. Checks should be made to:

Rotary District 7710
PO Box 20807
Raleigh, NC 27619

Payment may be made at the door.

Prizes:  1st-$200;   2nd-$100;   3rd-$50.

Contestants from last year may participate this year with an original presentation.



The Multi-District Championship is being coordinated by District 7730. The Multi-district is scheduled for March 13, 2016 in Kenansville at the James Sprunt Community College. The topic for the Muti-District competition is “What must be done to prevent substance abuse in North Carolina?” Contact for the Multi-district is Dave Baggett,



2015 RAD District Speech Contestants with D7710 District Governor Matthew Kane

2015 RAD District Speech Contestants with D7710 District Governor Matthew Kane

On March 8, 2015, 10 well-spoken intelligent high school students participated in the District 7710 Rotary Against Drugs Speech Contest. The results of the competition were:

First Place:       Anita Hallberg, Broughton High School
                             Raleigh Midtown

Second Place:  Abigail Martin, Johnston Co. Middle College
                              Joint Johnston County Clubs

Third Place:     Basil Williams, West Johnson High School
                              Joint Johnston County Clubs

Other Club Participant Winners:

Kaila Allen, Broughton High School – Raleigh
Kate Crabtree, Sanderson High School – North Raleigh
Colby Godwin, North Johnston High School – Joint Johnston County Clubs
Deanna Massie, Corinth Holder High School – Joint Johnston County Clubs
Milou Nguyen, Green Hope High School – Morrisville
Christopher Riley, Clayton High School – Joint Johnston County Clubs
Austin Wood, Garner Magnet High School – Garner Mid-Day

Judges for the District competition were DG Matthew Kane, iPDG Leigh Hudson, and Garner President Chuck Killian.

Winner- Anita Hallberg, (left) RAD Chair- Chuck Caldwell

Winner- Anita Hallberg, (left)
RAD Chair- Chuck Caldwell

The Multi-District competition was held that afternoon. Seven students from Districts 7710, 7720, and 7730 participated. The winners of that competition with judges DGE-7710 Newman Aguiar, Raleigh member Wilson Hayman, and DG-7720 Lee Adams, were:

First Place:                   Anita Hallberg                7710

Second Place:               Madison Boswell           7730

Third Place (tie):            Jacob Brannon              7730

Third Place (tie):            Basil Williams                7710

Fourth Place:                 Peyton Hohenstein        7720

Fourth Place:                 Abigail Martin                7710

Fourth Place:                 Rafael Montes               7730

Anita Hallberg, sponsored by Raleigh Midtown and representing District 7710, won the competition.

Coordinating the event were Lee Adams (7720), Pat Bridgers, David Baggett (7730), Veronica Bent, Charles Caldwell, Leigh Hudson, Patsy Pierce and Rusine Sinclair.

The competition was very successful, filled with a roomful of proud parents and family and the clubs that participated in their Districts. Thanks to the North Carolina Advocates for Justice for the use of their building.